&..."/> &..."/> &..."/>

2013 Award Winners


Hart Memorial Trophy (Most Valuable Player):

Alex Ovechkin beat out first timer John Tavares, and one time winner Sidney Crosby. Ovechkin scored a league high 32 goals this season and played excellent in the later part of the season to lead Washington to the division title and the playoffs.

Ted Lindsay Award (Most Outstanding Player selected by NHLPA):

Sidney Crosby may not have won the Hart Trophy, but he isn’t going home empty handed. The Ted Lindsay award is selected by members of the NHLPA for the Most Outstanding Player. Crosby beat the Lightning’s Martin St. Louis and Washington’s Alex Ovechkin. Crosby scored 56 points in 36 games this season.

Vezina Trophy (Best Goaltender):

Sergei Bobrovsky won his first Vezina Trophy this season despite the Columbus Blue Jackets missing the playoffs at the end of the year. Bobrovsky went 21-11-6 with a goals against average of 2.00 and a save percentage of .932%. Bobrovsky beat out veteran stars Henrik Lundqvist and Antti Niemi.

James Norris Memorial Trophy (Best Defenseman):

P.K. Subban won his first Norris Trophy this season playing in 42 games for the Montreal Canadiens and posting 38 points, including 26 powerplay points. Subban averaged 23:15 TOI this season and recorded a +12 rating. Subban’s competition included Penguins defender Kris Letang and Minnesota’s newcomer Ryan Suter (take that Shea Weber).

Calder Memorial Trophy (Rookie of the Year):

Jonathan Huberdeau was awarded the rookie of the year Calder Memorial Trophy this season playing in 48 games and putting up 31 points for the Florida Panthers. Good things are ahead for the other two finalists as well. Brandon Saad and Brendan Gallagher were nominated, but Huberdeau was able to come away with the hardware.

Frank J. Selke Trophy (Best Defensive Forward):

Jonathan Toews lead the league in takeaways for what had to be the entire season. His ability to play so well in his own end is what makes his offensive skill so much more likable. Toews lead the Blackhawks to the number one seed in the Western Conference and the entire NHL. Toews beat out Detroit forward Pavel Datsyuk and Bruins forward Patrice Bergeron.

Lady Byng Memorial Trophy (Sportsmanship and Gentleman Award):

Martin St. Louis won his third Lady Byng in the last four years. St. Louis, who in my opinion was snubbed for the Ted Lindsay Award, added another trophy to the shelf playing in 48 games and grabbing 60 points, and only racked up a total of 14 PIMs. St. Louis beat out Blackhawks forward Patrick Kane (I just feel like he should never win this award, seriously) and Islanders forward Matt Moulson.

Bridgestone Messier Leadership Award (Leadership On and Off the Ice):

Daniel Alfredsson of the Ottawa Senators exhibited his leadership abilities this season in pushing a battered team into the playoffs. Ottawa battled injuries all season long, and still made their way in for a decent push into the second round. Alfredsson beat Dustin Brown of the L.A. Kings and Jonathan Toews of the Chicago Blackhawks.

Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy (Perserverance, Sportsmanship, Dedication to Hockey):

Minnesota Wild goaltender Josh Harding was diagnosed with multiple sclerosis late in 2012 before the lockout had ended. Harding was ready for the start of the season, but missed a bit of time during the year. Harding stepped in for started Nicklas Backstrom and played for the Wild during the playoffs. Harding beat finalists Sidney Crosby and Adam McQuaid.

NHL Foundation Player Award (Commitment, Perseverance and Teamwork to Enrich Community)

Henrik Zetterberg of the Detroit Red Wings won this award for his work in various charities in Detroit and around the world.

King Clancy Memorial Trophy (Leadership and Humanitarian Contribution):

Boston Bruins assistant captain Patrice Bergeron took home the King Clancy this season for his dedication to leadership.

Jack Adams Award (Coach of the Year):

Paul MacLean was awarded the Jack Adams Coach of the Year award for his outstanding work with the Ottawa Senators this season. The injury battled Senators kept their season together and pushed into the playoffs and even snuck passed the Montreal Canadiens in the first round. MacLean beat finalists Bruce Boudreau and Joel Quenneville.

General Manager of the Year:

Ray Shero may not be able celebrate the season the way he had hoped after making moves at the deadline to acquire Brenden Morrow, Jussi Jokinen, and Jarome Iginla, but at least he isn’t completely empty handed, right? Marc Bergevin of the Montreal Canadiens and Bob Murray of the Anaheim Ducks were also nominated.

Statistical Awards:

Maurice Rocket Richard Trophy (Most Goals):

Alex Ovechkin

Art Ross Trophy (Most Points):

Martin St. Louis

William Jennings Trophy (Goaltenders with lowest amount of goals against):

Corey Crawford and Ray Emery