Detroit Red Wings Announce Entire 2024-25 Schedule, Including Preseason Games

The Detroit Red Wings announced their 2024-25 season schedule.
Toronto Maple Leafs v Detroit Red Wings
Toronto Maple Leafs v Detroit Red Wings / Gregory Shamus/GettyImages
facebooktwitterreddit

The Detroit Red Wings have announced their 2024-25 NHL schedule, including the preseason games. They open the season on Thursday, October 10 against the Pittsburgh Penguins and close the season at Scotiabank Arena against the Toronto Maple Leafs on Thursday, April 17.

Red Wings look to continue momentum push

The Red Wings will play 26 games against the Atlantic Division and 24 games against the Metropolitan Division. They head to Madison Square Garden to face the New York Rangers to play their first road game of the season on Monday, October 14. Detroit will go outside the division to play the Dallas Stars for the final home game of the season at Little Caesers Arena on Monday, April 14.

The Red Wings will play the 2024 Stanley Cup champions, the Florida Panthers, on Thursday, January 16 at Amerant Bank Arena.

Detroit will play against the Columbus Blue Jackets on Saturday, March 1, 2025, at Ohio Stadium as part of the NHL Stadium Series. The Red Wings hold a 2-0-2 record in outdoor games. Detroit plays the most games at home in December, playing nine games at home. Of the 41 home games, five are on Friday, 10 on Saturday, and seven on Sunday.

As part of the schedule, the Red Wings also released their preseason schedule, listed below:

Wednesday, September 23 at the Chicago Blackhawks Friday, September 27 vs the Chicago Blackhawks Saturday, September 28 vs the Pittsburgh Penguins Monday, September 30 vs the Buffalo Sabres Tuesday, October 1 at the Pittsburgh Penguins Thursday, October 3 vs the Toronto Maple Leafs Friday, October 4 vs the Ottawa Senators Saturday, October 5 at the Toronto Maple Leafs

The Red Wings are coming off of a successful season, seeing them miss out on a playoff spot by a single point. The free agency period has begun, but General Manager Steve Yzerman has made only a few moves to try and improve the roster before the season begins. His moves thus far have been confusing but there is still room for a trade to go down. Goaltender Cam Talbot and defenseman Erik Gustafsson have been added to the roster, while forward David Perron (Ottawa Senators), defenseman Jake Walman (San Jose Sharks), and goaltender James Reimer (Buffalo Sabres) have found new homes.

feed