NHL Awards: Looking Forward To 2015-16 Season

1 of 6

Jun 24, 2015; Las Vegas, NV, USA; Jir Hudler talks to media after winning the Lady Byng Memorial Trophy during the 2015 NHL Awards at MGM Grand. Mandatory Credit: Jake Roth-USA TODAY Sports

It’s been nearly one month since the 2015 NHL Awards presentation in Las Vegas and over two weeks since the start of free agency.  It’s that time on the calendar when hockey takes a back seat to baseball’s second half and, soon, football training camps.

Not for me.  I’ve still thought about the 2015 NHL Awards and how nice it was to see some fresh faces winning awards.  Jiri Hudler winning the Lady Bing was cool as was Carey Price winning almost everything else, much deserved after the season he had.  I know I thought Alex Ovechkin would beat him for league MVP.  The goaltender in me is elated I was wrong.

Live Feed

A Two-Goalie System is Critical for NY Islanders' Success
A Two-Goalie System is Critical for NY Islanders' Success /

Eyes On Isles

  • Calgary Flames Veteran Wins King Clancy Memorial Trophy Flame for Thought
  • NY Islanders Captain Anders Lee Named Finalist for King Clancy Memorial Trophy Eyes On Isles
  • 5 New Jersey Devils Who Will Receive Award Votes Pucks and Pitchforks
  • Boston Bruins: A Problem Between The Pipes In The Playoffs? Causeway Crowd
  • Announcing the 2022-23 Boston Bruins Mid-Season Awards Causeway Crowd
  • I know it’s only July but I’m already excited for the 2015-16 season.  Plenty of players on new teams, a few questions with some coming back from big injuries, and the smell of the fresh ice at the rink.  Is it October yet?

    Looking back got me looking forward as well.  Can Price repeat the season he had last year and sweep the major NHL awards again?  Will we get any first time winners in 2016?  And when will the Norris Trophy actually go to the best defenseman, not the player putting up the most points?

    I’m looking at five of the major NHL awards (Hart, Vezina, Norris, Calder and Jack Adams) and who I believe will win them in 2015-16.  I’ll also touch on other players that could be nominated and, in one case, who I think should win the award instead.

    Let’s give out some NHL awards!

    Next: 2016 NHL Awards - Calder Memorial Trophy